Also, an attempt at a political debate. I am a no voter.

04May10

I should vote no-vote, but I am not registered.

I am up to date on manifestos, have checked how powerful my vote is in both my hometown and in Birmingham, as well as the power of some of my friends votes.

But, do I have the right to comment on current events and the state of society, the economy and politics as a system?

I invite comments; let’s get chattering.

7 Responses to “Also, an attempt at a political debate. I am a no voter.”

  1. 1 Ben Harrow

    I did write this, I just thought I’d add this in at the bottom.

    I choose not to vote, because I believe the system needs to change, and there is no opportunity for me to push the system in this way even though we have a democratic society.

    I understand, have taken interest in and follow the debate and am up to a decent standard of understanding of each parties respective manifesto; a position I believe is better than a lot of voters in the UK today.

    A nail in the coffin for me is the idea of tactical voting to essentially get around the current system; insanity. Further proof that the system in place needs to change.

    *sob*

  2. 2 Heather

    I kind of think that ‘tactical voting’ is pretty much voting, it’s voting because you’d rather someone was in than someone else, you are choosing a party. Yes, in an ideal world people would be voting for a party because they believed in everything they stood for and backed their policies but realistically, nobody is going to have all their boxes ticked.

    I do see why you may not want to vote but I think something a little more radical than not voting would need ot be done to change the entire system. If a significant enough amount of people did the same then maybe, just maybe parties may decide they need to attempt to change more radically but this woud surely take a lot of people and still miles away from changing the entire system.

    • I wish there was a suitable opportunity to do something more radical.

      The way that the debates are run now just makes me feel like each party wants to do something the others haven’t rather than do something right, and the system forces them into this routine year upon year upon year.

  3. Before it started, this election would have been the closest I’d come to not voting. But I didn’t come that close. I’ll vote because I don’t believe ‘not voting’ sends any message at all. It is too easy for politicians to write it off as apathy.
    If you don’t use your voice, other people will speak for you – in whichever way suits their own agenda.
    If you want to change the system, then not voting is probably the weakest attempt to change it. Vote for a party that supports proportional representation or another voting system. Vote for a party that is a rank outsider but will carry on campaigning because it had enough votes to persuade it that people were listening. Spoil your ballot paper to show you hate the lot of them.
    Just do something.
    I live in a seat so safe that the incumbent MP has not even bothered to take part in the local hustings. My vote is actually worth 0.052 votes. But it will have an effect on the person I vote for, and if it increases their party’s share of the vote, then it will be recognised by the incumbent and other parties, and in 4 years, or 8, or 12, it may have an effect. Or it may not. But at least I tried.

    • You’re right in the sense that apathy is assumed; I hate the way that, as you said a few weeks ago, over 60% of people aged 21 and under aren’t registered to vote, and it’s sad that it’s automatically assumed that ithis is the result of immaturity, a lack of understanding and a lack of caring.

      I just think it’s also terribly sad that a huge majority of the public need to have the party listed alongside the local candidates because when they vote, they choose a party and a figurehead they have seen on TV than a candidate who will represent their local area effectively. These are the people who are seen to be the one’s making a difference when they are just, in many, many cases, as clueless as those who choose to to look into politics at all.

      It is a weak attempt at change in not voting, but, I prefer speaking out by alerting people to what they are doing than by pushing my vote towards an anonymous party aiming for change who, if they gained a following, may make the same mistakes because the current political climate is and HAS to be too focused on appearances and putting eachother down than fighting for what is collectively best for the country.

      I’ll try and rouse myself for voting and making a difference in this sense in the future, but only if this political climate changes. But, alas, I doubt it will.

  4. 6 Matt Higgs Photography

    Ditto to Pauls post, not even no voting or whatever, is a waste, the only message it really sends out is you cant be bothered to voice your opinion.
    I live in a town that has been conservative for as long as me or my parents can remember, my vote is worth 0.066 but will still be going back home to vote on Thursday.

    • But does the fact that we can statistically show how valuable our vote is yet we remain anonymous and cannot voice an actual opinion not prove something?

      I know that I should definately no vote, but the idea that voting stands miles above debate in the public sphere is something I don’t entirely agree with…


Leave a Reply

